Life in Sweden

I’ve been thinking for a while that it’s about time I write a blog, then I realised I’ve been thinking this for about 2 weeks now without actually doing it… I feel like someone trying to start living a healthy lifestyle who buys a pair of runners and goes to bed every night saying “I’ll go running tomorrow” but never actually does. So this morning (this evening) I’m going to lace up the sneakers and go for a run (write a blog)!

Not a whole lot has been happening here in Sweden in the last little while; we’ve settled into a nice routine of training, cooking, cleaning (sometimes) and resting, so I haven’t felt the need to report on anything new and different. When in another country however, even day to day chores can be done a little differently. Here’s a short photo journal about one chore that I feel is 100% better in my Swedish life…

Introducing: The Shopping Toboggan

Don't feel like walking to the supermarket? Take the toboggan!

Don’t feel like walking to the supermarket? Take the toboggan!

Think this looks silly?

Think this looks silly?

Not so silly when you get to drag the shopping back up the hill instead of carrying it!

Not so silly when you get to drag the shopping back up the hill instead of carrying it!

Just in case you'd forgotten where we are...

Just in case you’d forgotten where we are…

Home sweet home... and the eggs didn't even break!

Home sweet home… and the eggs didn’t even break!

And a little proof that this is not a one time thing...

And a little proof that this is not a one time thing…

Onto the racing side of things, a few weeks ago Ellie and I competed in the Jämtkraft Ski Marathon here in Östersund. This was the longest classic race either of us had done all season at 18.5km for me and 42km for Ellie. My aim for the race was to try to ski with the pack, however I chose a very bad starting position behind a guy who, once the gun went, took a few seconds to start his watch and then walked off the start line. I don’t know if I would have been able to stick with the top group but on the day I didn’t get the chance, as they already had a big gap after just 100m of the race. I was chasing one girl in the 18.5km race until the halfway mark when I realised I was not making up any ground at all and mentally, I wasn’t having fun. At this point I turned off my tunnel vision and realised there were a lot of skiers around me who were racing the 42km (they started 30mins earlier) and started trying to catch as many of them as possible. This turned out to be a great decision as I had heaps of fun passing people and when I got to the finish I discovered I was only just behind the girl I’d been chasing earlier in the race. It was another good race for practicing having a positive mental attitude and seeing the difference it can make!

Not from race day, but look how beautiful it is here! Photo by Casey

Not from race day, but look how beautiful it is here! Photo by Casey

On the 7th of Feb, Casey and I looked up what channel the Olympics would be broadcasted on in Sweden and got ready to settle in and watch the opening ceremony, only to discover that we didn’t have the right channel as it’s not free to air. Horrified, we began a frantic internet search for online streaming and eventually found the Swedish official Olympic broadcaster, who ask for about $50 for the month to watch. We were reluctant to pay, but with no other option we decided to suck it up and it was a wonderful decision! We can now see every event on it’s own separate channel and watch everything up to 4 hours delayed which makes fitting our training around the races much easier. While all the commentary is in Swedish and we don’t understand 99.9% of what’s being said, I’ve heard we’re not really missing much compared to those in Aus (sorry channel ten). The events have all been fantastic and the level of competition across all the sports is inspiring, but yesterdays cross country women’s 4x5km relay was by far the most impressive thing I’ve ever seen… Charlotte Kalla’s anchor leg to bring Sweden from 25 seconds back to a sprint to the line gold medal was incredible! It just makes me want to go out and skate until I can figure out how to ski like she does. I have definitely found myself a new idol.

Here’s a video of the amazing finish:

That’s all for now, only one week left here and lots of excitement so I’m hoping to fit in 2 blogs before I get home!

Very happy here!

Very happy here! Photo by Casey

4 thoughts on “Life in Sweden

  1. Hi Ash I am home again and life returns to the same old routine so quickly but I had a good trip, although experienced some difficulties that you young ones would take in your stride. We have enjoyed your posts and glad that you have enjoyed your time away and have found the training useful and fun. Looking at those skiers coming in and collapsing after their xc races at the Olympics I wonder if fun is the right word. I am just so grateful you aren’t aiming at Slopestyle, that’s soooo dangerous, as of course are lots of the other events. I am exhausted from staying up half the night watching. Anna was helpful to me when I saw her at the hotel and I enjoyed some time with several of the boys parents at the Junior and Under 23 World Cup Events. We look forward to seeing you when you return and hearing more about your time away. Loads of love darling, it’s nice to have an IPad again, I bought a new one as mine was never found by the airline. I reckon it’s being used by someone else by now having been sold on. It was difficult communicating while I was away as it had all my addresses and information on it and my phone was faulty. Have since found it had a faulty SIM card. Bummer!!!!!! Love ya Grannie xxxx

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    • I was wondering why I couldn’t get in touch with you! Glad you enjoyed our trip despite the technology problems, and also that you enjoyed the World Juniors. Look forward to seeing you soon when I get home 🙂

Leave a comment